Call for Nominations: The Sustainable Fisheries and Aquaculture Awards

Sustainable Fisheries Initiative is calling for nominations for the annual Sustainable Fisheries and Aquaculture Awards (SFA).
The awards seek to celebrate East Africans who give their time, expertise and passion on behalf of our precious natural resources. Across 15 categories, this annual event celebrates regional champions working in fisheries as well as nature protection, climate action and care for communities while supporting food security and nutrition,  sustainable economies, sustainable societies, sustainable environment, gender equity and equality.
Sustainable Fisheries Initiative is working with key stakeholders including the Lake Victoria Fisheries Organisation,  Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries and its agencies, Regional Fish Exporters Associations, Ministry of Water and Environment and its agencies, Ministry of Local Government, Institutions of Higher Learning, Fisher folk communities,  associations and environmentalists. The SFA awards seek to take forward the recommendations from the celebrations of the International Year of Artisanal Fisheries and Aquaculture 2022 that arose from the International Conference on Artisanal Fisheries and Aquaculture(ICAFA) that took place in September 2022 in Jinja in commemoration of IYAFA2022.The main purpose of the awards therefore is to recognise and award efforts geared towards sustainable fisheries and aquaculture for food security and nutrition.
Key dates
  • Deadline for nominations: 10th May 2023
  • Public voting starts: 12th May 2023
  • Voting ends: 16th June 2023
  • Award Ceremony: 30th June 2023 at Pearl of Africa Hotel, Kampala

Please click the link to nominate your candidate/organisation to qualify for the awards.

Photo: Rahim Saggaf

Related Posts